Recent Searches

Horse-Drawn Sleigh Ride in Banff

Banff, Canada
Horse-Drawn Sleigh Ride in Banff

From $38.31

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon40 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here


Take a charming horse-driven sleigh ride through the snow-covered meadows of Banff during this rustic 40-minute tour. Cozy up with family, friends, or a loved one as your friendly driver whisks you away on a sightseeing tour of the area’s stunning mountain peaks.
  • Horse-drawn sleigh ride in Banff
  • Take a scenic sleigh ride for some winter fun
  • Enjoy views of snow-covered meadows, valleys, and the Canadian Rockies
Saved to wishlist!
40-minute sleigh ride
Friendly driver
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Banff Trail Riders - Stables , 100 Sundance Rd, Banff, AB T1L 1B9, Canada

Please meet at Warner Stables, the big red stables located at the end of Sundance Road in Banff. When you arrive, please follow the sleigh ride signs to check in for your ride at the office in the west barn. There is plenty of free parking at the site.

This activity will end right where it started.
Find your way to the Warner Stables in Banff for your sleigh ride through the Canadian Rockies. 

Climb up into the traditional horse-drawn sleigh with your party and snuggle up as you take in the views. See the horses' steamy breath rise in clouds as you set out into the snow-covered landscape. 

Glide through the pristine meadows for 40 minutes, admiring stunning views of the mountains and the surrounding valley. Look out for local wildlife and snap photos as you travel.
Stop At:  
Banff National Park
Your winter sleigh ride departs from Warner Stables in Banff. After hopping in the horse-drawn carriage with your family or friends, your friendly driver will take the reins and lead you along snow-covered meadows. On your 40-minute ride, soak in amazing views of the valley and Canadian Rockies, watching for wildlife as you glide along the snow. You’ll be provided with wool blankets to make your riding experience comfortable and warm.
Duration: 40 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • There are no age restrictions for this tour and children 3 years and under are free. However, children 3 years and under are not guaranteed a seat (they may have to sit on your lap).
  • Sleigh rides are weather dependent, and may not operate in certain conditions (eg: -35C).
  • Children aged 17 years and under must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.
  • All adults must sign a waiver prior to the tour. A waiver must also be completed by the parent or legal guardian of any rider under the age of 18 (documentation may be required to confirm the signatory’s authority).
  • Any minors under 18 years who are not accompanied by an adult must present a pre-signed waiver to go on the tour.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Each row in the sleigh will be exclusive to a booking. Each row can hold a maximum of 4 guests. Bookings of more than 4 guests will need to be divided into more than one booking.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • A minimum of two participants are required to make a booking.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Banff Trail Riders
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


34 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 34 reviews
My husband and I both...
, Mar 2022
My husband and I both really enjoyed this experience! I normally have allergies to the straw or hay! No reaction! The staff is very friendly and helpful!! I f visiting the area you must go!! Its so wonderful!! I just wish I got the name of ladies we visited with!
Very informative and...
, Feb 2022
Very informative and family friendly. Driver knew a lot about local history and natural surroundings
Great family experience! 👌🏼
, Feb 2022
The staff were inviting and very accommodating. The driver was also very informative of the area's history and answered all our questions. We ended the ride with some complimentary hot chocolate and the kids had fun petting the horses. Thank you!
Well Worth The Experience
, Jan 2022
Hearing the bells on horses harness brought back memories. Seeing different wild animals up close…wow!
2 travelers found this review helpful
Freezing and Friendly
, Dec 2021
All staff were wonderful and accommodating. The weather was terribly cold on Christmas day! Thank you to all staff for making this a great experience.
Nothing at all they way it was advertised
, Mar 2021
There wasn’t any . You were supposed to take a ride around the park and instead drove in circles in their field.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Im sorry you felt mislead. I would have to disagree with your comments.
Horrible customer service
, Feb 2021
We drove a total of 4 hours round trip, only for them to cancel our booking once we arrived at their office. Our kids were very disappointed. If they needed to cancel, they should have cancelled first thing in the morning and not wait to cancel after customers have made the long drive out there in the afternoon. What a total waste of money and time. They also refused to provide any compensation. I definitely would not recommend them.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2021
Hello MC K., Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your sleigh ride booking. Unfortunately there were severe wind gusts in Banff on Sunday, which began much earlier in the day than anticipated. We weren't able to proceed with sleigh rides that afternoon as it had quickly became unsafe for them to run, and unfortunately had to immediately cancel all rides to ensure guest safety. We reached out to all affected guests as soon as the weather changed, however we understand the disappointment this must have caused. Guest safety is our number one priority, and sadly in this instance we weren't able to deliver your experience due to events outside of our control. A full refund has been issued for your booking, and if you would reconsider booking with us again then please contact our reservations team directly on 1-800-661-8352 with your booking reference and we would be pleased to offer you a 50% discount on your booking.
A great time was had
, Jan 2021
A lovely little trail ride, staff were friendly and very knowledgeable. Bundle up . And bring an blanket . Hotchocolate and time by the fire after to warm up..a lovely winter activity.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2021
Thank you Tara for your review we are glad you enjoyed your ride
, Feb 2020
A perfect afternoon. Our driver was very friendly and his stories entertained us. The venue added nice touches like marshmallows to roast on the fire and hot chocolate inside to warm up. Highly recommend.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you for your kind words.
Definitely a must when visiting Banff
, Feb 2020
This was part of a 70th birthday gift for my mom. We were looking for something involving the mountains but not strenuous. She absolutely loved it and so did my siblings and I. (All over 30) The guide was great and the view was breathtaking. We learned so much about the wildlife and of course the horses were beautiful. Overall an amazing experience. It was chilly but we were very bundled up and the blankets added extra warmth.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Im glad you could share your moms birthday with us and that the family had a great time
Christmas Day Sleigh Ride
, Dec 2019
This was truly magical to have done on Christmas Day but very cold. Warner Stables were great, well organised and friendly. Would highly recommend this! We
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thank you. We hope you had a great Christmas.
Very well organised despite the fact...
, Jan 2018
Very well organised despite the fact that on Christmas Day the temperature was heading towards minus 28 degrees celsius. Beautiful landscape, very good tour guide and necessary resources blanket and warm drinks were also readily available.
It was a nice ride but the weather...
Marie D
, Jan 2018
It was a nice ride but the weather was VERY COLD. -36 degrees . way too cold. But the staff was very accommodating and tried to keep us warm on the ride. Would do again but not in such cold weather.
Very knowledge tour guide and...
, Feb 2017
Very knowledge tour guide and driver. We learned a lot of history of the national park and its wild life. Recommend to people who may enjoy learning the history and local wildlife. Not highly recommend for children the ride is semi-fun, as it went through a small area in circle. Good picture opp with the sleigh before and after the tour.
We were so fortunate to have the...
peter h
, Jan 2017
We were so fortunate to have the sleigh ride because there had been a big fall of snow that night to make it possible. we had the private sleigh ride for 2 Kate was our driver and Bart was the engine both were fantastic, Kate was knowledgeable if we asked a question otherwise respected our personal space. beautiful backdrop of the mountains and historical buildings on the property, just a wonderful experience offered by real genuine people. On our deal you get choccies and champers, it was cold enough we probably would have preferred mulled wine hahahah!! Thanks for the experience folks
I enjoyed it but 45 minutes would have...
Rebecca H
, Feb 2016
I enjoyed it but 45 minutes would have been better than 30 minutes.
Excellent trip. Our driver (and...
John B
, Mar 2014
Excellent trip. Our driver (and horse) was great, the scenery was amazing and the service with top notch.
We had a lovely time on our sleigh ride...
Jennifer M
, Jan 2014
We had a lovely time on our sleigh ride it was fun and would do it again, wear warm clothes.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Horse-Drawn Sleigh Ride in Banff
Horse-Drawn Sleigh Ride in Banff


40 minutes

Free Cancellation



1 hour

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



1 hour

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation



1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations