Recent Searches
Clear

Texas Hill Country and LBJ Tour From Austin

star-4.534 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Austin, United States
Texas Hill Country and LBJ Tour From Austin

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 hours  (approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Experience Texas Hill Country while exploring the life of U.S. President and Texas native son Lyndon Johnson. After a convenient hotel pickup, visit Johnson’s “Texas White House,” his reconstructed boyhood home (now a national park), and the Lyndon B. Johnson State Park and Historic Site. Learn about the cowboys and German immigrants who shaped the region, stop by historic Fredericksburg, and visit the legendary country music town of Luckenbach.
  • Immerse yourself in the history and culture of the scenic Texas Hill Country
  • Visit President Lyndon B. Johnson’s childhood home and “Texas White House”
  • Learn about the Hill Country’s proud mix German immigrant and cowboy culture
  • Make the most of limited time with convenient hotel pickup and drop-off
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pick-up and drop-off at select downtown hotels - confirm 48 hrs in advance with operator
Air-conditioned vehicle
Food, drinks, and any wine/beer tastings (optional)
Gratuities

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

9:00 AM
We pick up from downtown area hotels starting 15 - 30 mins prior to the start of the tour- you must confirm your reservation at least 48 hours prior to tour departure.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide - languages other than English available upon request for additional fee
  • Minimum drinking age is 21 years
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Please note the contact info you provide to Viator is what we will use to contact you, if needed. Should you wish to provide an alternative phone number or email to reach you at while traveling, please provide when booking
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 56 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Gray Line San Antonio
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Texas Hill Country and LBJ Tour From Austin?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Texas Hill Country and LBJ Tour From Austin.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Texas Hill Country and LBJ Tour From Austin?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Texas Hill Country and LBJ Tour From Austin.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "It would be worth a separate day trip just to there." See review
  • "We had some problems on this tour, the first bus had a/c issues so we had to change it, then on the way to Texas White House the replacement vehicle developed a flat!" See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
34 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 34 reviews
star-1
Totally Disappointed
Jill_G
, Apr 2022
The tour guide continuously made inappropriate comments about politics and his “glass-half-empty” view of life.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
We apologize if our guide said anything inappropriate. 99 out of 100 times we get very positive reviews of our guides. We have already contacted the guide on you tour and have arranged for re-training on tour content and customer service. One of the areas that we emphasize is that tours are meant to be fun and informative and that guides should keep their personal feelings about things to themselves. I will gladly discuss this matter further with you if you contact me at: john.walker@starshuttle.com.
star-5
Texas History & Texas Hill Country
Natalie_B
, Apr 2022
Meeting new people, getting a refresher on Texas history plus learning new things about Texas, friendliness of tour operator, the food, the sights. LBJ Ranch and Fredericksburg were my favorite stops.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Natalie:We are so glad you had a great tour and appreciated our guide; thanks for taking your time to write a review; please come back and see us soon and try our San Antonio Grand Historic City Tour or our San Antonio Missions UNESCO World Heritage Site Tour.
star-5
Good overview of countryside and LBJ, German history of region
Timothy_K
, Dec 2021
Guide was super nice. Without a car of our own, this was a great opportunity to see larger area around Austin. 👍
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Timothy, thank you so much for taking your time to write such a great review. We strive to provide an amazing and memorable experience through the Hill Country. Your review truly made our day! Please come back and see us again soon!
star-4
LBJ history lesson
David_E
, Dec 2021
Learned things about LBJ we did not know. Too much travel time to make it a 5 star. Interesting part of Texas we were not aware of before
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
We appreciate your feedback. We usually get 5 star reviews from all our guests- it does take over an hour to get into the heart of the Hill Country where we spend the day. If you would like to provide more feedback you can email me at anthony.perez@starshuttle.com
star-5
Perfect day in the Hill Country
Robin_D
, Sep 2021
Loretta was a wonderful guide, she provided us with a lot of interesting, historical information. Perfect amount of time at each of the stops. We were lucky to see a lot of wildlife as well.
star-3
Not a wine tasting tour but a fun one got to go to out of the way places
Kathie_W
, Jul 2021
Seeing different places was neat but we were told it was a wine tasting tour and it was not , we were the only ones on the van so he did stop at one of the wineries This tour guide was not one that usually does this tour so I don’t believe we really got a lot of information along the way and back
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review. While our itinerary for the Texas Hill Country & LBJ Ranch Tour From Austin doesn't include a stop at a vineyard for wine tasting, our guides try to make accommodations when they can. We strive to provide an amazing and memorable experience. If you would like to provide more feedback, please reach out to me at anthony.perez@starshuttle.com
star-3
not how it was advertised
Paula_M
, Jun 2021
our tour guide Loretta was exceptional. the other tour participants were very fun and welcoming. the stop at LBJ’s grandparents ranch was picturesque. and the long horn cattle a treat to see. the wildflowers were remarkable. unfortunately our whole reason for purchasing this tour was to visit the LBJ Ranch. which is how the tour is advertised and sold. it was not until i read the confirmation fine print 12 hours prior to pick up was it made clear the ranch was not open due to structural damage since 2018. one would think the tour operator would by now offer a substitute or reduce the cost. Neither occurred. But the fine print stated we could view the Hangar. Once we got to the ranch we were told the road was washed out due to heavy rains that week. and we couldn't tour the hanger and air force 1 1/2. it would seem Greyline could have learned this info prior and alerted us that a major portion of the tour was cancelled. as it was the main reason we booked the tour, we were highly disappointed. the trip and stop in Fredericksburg was enjoyable. The Ww2 museum in Fredricksburg could have been a substitute for LBJ ranch but that was not offered. In the future, given the ranch is closed to the public and has been for over three years, I suggest that you simply advertise the trip as hill country, Fredricksburg, wine tasting. to advertise otherwise is false. Another suggestion is regarding the pre recorded historical narrative. The narrative is played on an ipad. Although we were sitting directly within earshot, the narrative was impossible to hear and understand. no doubt other passengers seated further behind us could not hear a thing. Such a shame as it probably was a historical account of the area. If all this were not enough, when we got to Luckenbach we learned it was closed fora concert that evening. Although this is a negative review of some elements of the tour, know this, Loretta was pleasant, informative, fun loving and an asset to the organization. We enjoyed her and others on the tour immensely. would i book another Viatour again? Not sure
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a review. We strive to provide each and every guest with a fun, informative, meaningful and memorable experience. Our guides strive to personalize each tour, Loretta is great and we thank you on her behalf for the compliments. We profoundly apologize that your experience was less than our usual 4 or 5 star rating for this tour. The entire ranch except for the Western White House is usually open and we had extreme weather that washed out a ranch road - this has never happened in the last 10 years. If you would like to discuss this tour with us we would gladly do so, please contact Anthony Perez, Gray Line Tour Manager at anthony.perez@starshuttle.com and he will give you a call at your convenience..
star-5
Golfing Girls side trip
Sandra_H
, May 2021
Everything we expected and more. Our driver was great and accommodating to our needs. Liked the history of LBJ family. Wished we could have had more time to shop in the small town., of Fredericktown. Would recommend it.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a positive review. We strive to provide each and every guest with a fun, informative, meaningful and memorable experience. Our guides strive to personalize each tour; they are the Best in Texas, and we are not just bragging!! Your review truly made our day! Please come back and see us soon, we think you would also enjoy our award winning San Antonio: The Grand Historic City Tour or our San Antonio Missions UNESCO World Heritage Site Tour!
star-5
Great fun
James_C
, Mar 2021
A slightly long tour , however very informative and interesting. It was nice to get out of the city and see the Texas countryside. Our guide was super accommodating ( stopping for coffee even - my request) as well as being very well versed on multiple subjects of local interest. All in all a very wonderful experience!
icon Response from Host , Mar 2021
James: Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a positive review! We strive to provide each and every guest with a fun, informative, meaningful and memorable experience. Our guides strive to personalize each tour; they are the Best in Texas (Perry is a great guide), and we are not just bragging!! Your review truly made our day! Please come back and see us soon, we think you would also enjoy our San Antonio: The Grand Historic City Tour or our San Antonio Missions UNESCO World Heritage Site Tour (both have 1/2 day options).
star-5
Comprehensive tour of hill country
Peter_Y
, Nov 2020
Great day, all around, especially if you’re a fan of LBJ or just presidential history. We also loved Fredericksburg but wish we had more time there for the museum and shopping. It would be worth a separate day trip just to there.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2020
Peter: Thank you for taking your time to write such a nice review. We are ecstatic that you had a great day, that is our goal with each of our guests - so you made our day! Please come back and visit with us soon, I think you would also like our San Antonio Grand Historic City tour with 55 points of interest - history, architecture, arts and beautiful sites.
star-5
The LBJ ranch.
Lloyd_B
, Sep 2020
Ms.Eve was my tour guide and she was absolutely wonderful. She was fun,lighthearted,talkative and and all around excellent guide. She was very informed and interactive. She also handled the hillside driving will such ease. And even recommended a place to eat with excellent food.Once again an all around great experience.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
We are so glad you enjoyed your Gray Line Texas Hill Country & LBJ Ranch Tour! Please come back soon and try our San Antonio Missions UNESCO World Heritage Site Tour, all or our guests find it fun, meaningful and fascinating.
star-5
LBJ and the hill country
CAROLYN_M
, Mar 2020
I enjoyed visiting LBJ’s ranch, learning so much about him and getting a different outlook on him. I also enjoyed visiting Fredericksburg with the German influence. Luckenbach was fun. There was actually live music.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2020
We are thrilled that you had a great time! We strive to have our tours informative, interesting, memorable but also fun! Thanks for writing such a favorable review.
star-2
Big Yawn Full of Boring
Christine_F
, Feb 2020
I thought we could tour LBJ house but, it was closed so that was disappointing. The most exciting part was the graveyard where LBJ was buried. Tour is very long and frankly boring. The tour guide, Perry, repeats every sentence twice and gives very little historical references to the LBJ presidency. You get most of your information on your own from reading plaques inside the museum. Fredricksburg was just a bunch of small shops, too touristy. Luckenbach stop was just weird-a whole lot of nothing. The general store was neat but, I was ready to leave after about 5 minutes. Not worth the cost of this tour unless you want to sleep through it. *YAWN*
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thank you for taking your time to write your review. We are disappointed that you did not thoroughly enjoy your Texas Hill Country & LBJ Ranch Tour. If you are ever back in our neck of the woods (Austin or San Antonio), call Anthony at 800-341-6000 ext, 103, and tell him the date of your tour and he will look it up in our system and make special accommodations for you- on us!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Day trip to Texas hill country
mrstevenryoung
, Feb 2020
We had a great experience and very nice day seeing the Texas hill country and LBJ sites. Our tour guide was very informative and accommodating. Thank you.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Thanks so much for taking your time to write such a positive review. We have the Best Guides in all of Texas and we're not just bragging! Please come back and visit with us soon and try our San Antonio Mission UNESCO World Heritage Site Tour, I think you will find the tour lays the foundation for what San Antonio and Central and South Texas have become today and complements the Hill Country Tour extremely well.
star-4
LBJ
Linda_S
, Jan 2020
Despite the weather being rainy an enjoyable trip. Guide Herbert was very informative. Beautiful countryside .
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
We are so glad you had an enjoyable tour and thanks for taking the time to write a positive review!
star-5
Not to be missed - a fantastic tour
Ada_O
, Jan 2020
Had a great full day experience. This tour is about history, music and food. All in one. Perry our guide explained us, in the first part of the tour, the life of ex president Johnson, his commitment on human rights; the changes he promoted, etc. The ex president ranch is worth visiting. The second part of the tour was to me, the highlight of the day; we visited Frederickburg, a German town in Texas. It is amazing, one can learn how German migrants created this town while visiting museums, memorials and shops. Shopping and eating are part of the experience. Lastly we visit the music town of Luckenbach, we heard life music and enjoyed the vibe of this unique and small town. A fantastic day. Highly recommended. Thanks so much Perry. You are great.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Thanks for writing such a positive and thorough review. We appreciate you taking your time to write. Please come back and visit with us soon and try one of our other great 5 star tours!
star-5
Great day
Lynn_B
, Oct 2019
Turned out I was the only one on the tour. Tour guide was very interesting and helpful. I'm originally from Austin but haven't lived here for the past 36 years. Was a great tour down memory lane as I had spent a lot of time in Fredericksburg and Luckenbach area as a young adult. It met all my expectations and I highly recommend it.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are so glad you had a great homecoming - and that we could be a part of that great experience!
star-5
More to LBJ than I knew
689marieo
, Oct 2019
Fascinating...want to thank driver Herbert & company as I was only person on tour & it still went....otherwise I’d have missed a great, informative day.....was tops
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
So glad you had a great experience and thanks for taking the time to write a review! We will always honor your reservation. If you book, we will - go one or one hundred it doesn't matter to us. Most of our tours are small group tours: 4, 6 8, 10, 12 guests. Large groups usually go in a separate vehicle. Please come back and visit us soon!
star-4
New view of the late president
2brianjd
, Mar 2019
We had some problems on this tour, the first bus had a/c issues so we had to change it, then on the way to Texas White House the replacement vehicle developed a flat! Our driver managed to get us on another bus to take us to the lunch stop while repairs were made! The travels through hill country were interesting, the guide kept us well informed, mainly by audio tape, of sights and areas we passed through. LBJ’s house and farm were an interesting stop, though at time of our visit it was not possible to get inside due to repairs. The information on LBJ shone a slightly new light on his presidency, I was unaware of how much legislation he had passed, of course the Vietnam war remains his defining legacy! Lunch in Fredericksburg was fine and we spent a little time looking around whilst awaiting our vehicle. The trip back to SAN Antonio was pleasant as was the stop at Lynchburg, an odd but interesting venue for some famous musicians!
star-5
Texas Hill Country and LBJ Tour From Austin
JANIS W
, Mar 2019
We had a wonderful time on our tour of Austin, LBJ, Fredricksburg and the Hill Country. Our tour guide, Eve was fantastic. We got to see and learn so much. Highly recommend!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Texas Hill Country and LBJ Tour From Austin
Texas Hill Country and LBJ Tour From Austin

star-4.534

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$109.00

star-4.561

2 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$68.00

star-4.526

2 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$285.00

star-51

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$99.00

star-5373

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$60.00

star-51

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$100.52

star-4.5114

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$69.95

star-531

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$75.00

star-577

1 hour 10 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$65.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations