Recent Searches
Clear

Hop on Hop Off Classic tour of Athens

|
Athina, Greece
Hop on Hop Off Classic tour of Athens

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 15 minutes to 2 hours  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 13 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Explore Athens at your own pace with a hop-on hop-off bus tour that provides easy transportation to key attractions like the Panathenaic Stadium and the Parthenon, part of the Acropolis. Travel across two interchanging lines—the Blue and the Orange—plus enjoy access to/from the port in Piraeus for cruise passengers.
  • Enjoy Wi-Fi on board
  • Hop on the Orange line for transport to major attractions like the Parthenon and Acropolis of Athens, as well as the Plaka District and Temple of Olympian Zeus
  • Listen to recorded commentary about the city
  • Take the Blue line to reach the city from the cruise port at Piraeus
Saved to wishlist!
Free WiFi on board
Hop-on hop-off tour
Multi-lingual audio guide in 16 different languages
Hotel pickup and drop-off

Departure Point

You may start this tour at any of the stops listed.
8:45 AM

Return Details

You may disembark at any of the available stops.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Both print outs and mobile versions are accepted
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • *** From January 2022 until March 31st 2022 the Beach lines ( Yellow and Green line) are not operating. *** From January 2022 until March 31st 2022 the Piraeus , Blue line will only operate during cruise ship arrivals at the port of Piraeus every 30 min from Piraeus Cruise Terminals to Athens every 30 min from Athens to Piraeus.
  • OPERATED BY Open Top Bus hellas M.E.P.E.
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Hop on Hop Off Classic tour of Athens?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Hop on Hop Off Classic tour of Athens.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Hop on Hop Off Classic tour of Athens?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Hop on Hop Off Classic tour of Athens.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Hop on Hop Off Classic tour of Athens?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Hop on Hop Off Classic tour of Athens.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Beach line is good is you are staying in the city and want a day out." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
341 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 341 reviews
star-1
I was not sent the QR...
Jennifer_L
, Jun 2022
I was not sent the QR code prior to traveling international and the internet connection was poor so we were not able to take this tour even though I had already paid. Plus, the bus did not come after waiting thirty minutes for our route.
star-3
I wish there was more...
Robert_G
, Jun 2022
I wish there was more explanation of what each site was. There was too much dead air time that could have been filled with information. The email indicated redemption spots (plural) but there was only one. We ended up having to take a taxi to the actual spot and wasted a lot of time. We never got an actual ticket so we had a lot of confusion every time we tried to board the bus. The bus stops were not clearly marked at each site.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Easy Way to See Athens
Claire_S
, Jun 2022
Enjoyed that it went to the major points of interest in Athens. Bus stops were easy to find and the price makes it a great value. Athens with a population of 5 million, this tour cuts through negotiating a large city so a person can see those items of importance. Bring water, it can get quite warm and sunny in summer.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-4
Great way to see Athens
Noel_S
, Jun 2022
The route the bus went on was very informative . Staff was very professional and helpful. The only issue was the WiFi was not very good.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Scam. Use the Original Red Hop On/Hop Off.
Dipti_S
, May 2022
Arrived at stop in the morning. Waited about 45 min and bus never came so we started walking. Tried to catch the bus again bear Tenple of Zeus later in the day. Waited another 30 min I want it finally came the bus driver and swan basket it was completely packed and there wasn’t a single seat available.! Never use the service and requested a refund from Viator who denied the request even though I never stepped foot on the bus. Wasted so much time waiting for this bus!!!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hello Dipti_S, First of all thanks for the review, as we always aim to improve daily. Buses run daily from each stop every 20 minutes. Sometimes, due to traffic congestions on the roads, there may be major delays affecting scheduled arrival times. If you have any complaints please email us at info@sightsofathens.gr and we will be able to assist you accordingly. SightsofAthens Team
star-4
Hop on Hop off to Athens
Pam
, May 2022
Great way to see all the highlights of Athens. Our only complaint was that they passed too many people on the hop on top off bus many times there were no seats available. They should only let the number of people on for seats if they had or they need more buses
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Great day in Athens
Janna_E
, May 2022
Really great way to see Athens and get to the Acropolis. Had a great time. Easy on and off with many stops throughout the city.
star-1
Athens blue bus
Rhonda_C
, May 2022
We waited at the designated stop twice and the bus never came. We had limited time in Athens and missed seeing the sites.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Dear Rhonda_C, Thanks for your review. Our buses run daily from our stops every 20 minutes. Some delays may occur due to high traffic congestion, but that is mostly during the rush hours in the morning. But they always arrive a bit after if this occurs. Any more information you need please feel free to contact us through our email, info@sightsofathens.gr, and we will be able to assist you accordingly. Looking forward to welcome you on board! Sights of Athens
star-1
Worst hop on hop off experience
Randi_L
, May 2022
Our hop on hop off experience in Athens was horrible. We waited forever, and at least three other red group buses came and left. We were told on the site, that we had to trade in vouchers for ticket to ride bus. We went to location and no one could help us. After hours of running around, two blue buses arrived and would not accept people, because they were stand by. When a bus finally came, we’re were told we would have to wait for bus into city, because this bus was going to beach. Red tour people got maps and headphones and looked happy, we got no headphones and no maps. Very disappointing and waste of precious time and money. We went one stop and got back on to where we started, and went back to hotel. We didn’t have time to repeat process and didn’t want to chance waiting and being misdirected and more frustrated. Very bad experience. Do not recommend!!!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Missed the tour but worked out OK.
David_M
, May 2022
The bus never came. We waited an hour and a half and never saw a bus. However, I called Viator and received a full refund.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Go for Hop on Hop Off
VernaAnnaLiza_V
, Apr 2022
This is the fastest way to see Athens. I recommend taking this tour. I suggest the agents on the bus stops to smile more and be ready for clarifications. I find that blue buses were more organized than the yellow buses. Overall tour experience is good.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Athens traffic can be a bear to navigate on your own
Annette_G
, Sep 2021
Glad to leave the driving to professionals in Athens. Easy to find stops. Agents available to answer questions.
3 travelers found this review helpful
star-4
Athens
Timothy_M
, Sep 2021
I think this was the best way to see Athens. Very convenient and hit all the major sites. The people working the bus line very helpful
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Excellent!!
joane_i
, Aug 2021
Best view of Athens and Sounio!!! It was hot when I arrived in Athens, so I didn't feel like walking much. Luckily, I chanced upon a blue bus and I was able to make the most out of my visit there. First of all, it was a great value for money, as I could use the same ticket 2 days. The buses were very precise and passed by every major sight of the capital. Not only that, the they provided earphones for the audio tour and the ticket was also valid for other tours to the port and the coastline. Excellent 👌👌👌
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-3
Good way to see the City if you don’t want to walk
Michelle_M
, Aug 2021
This was ok however we went on the hottest day of the year so far in Athens and it was uncomfortable sitting on the top deck. There was no water to purchase on board which was really needed. Bus stops all right next to street vendors and you look longingly but can’t jump off to purchase or it’s a 20 min wait for the next bus. The Piraeus and beach route I felt was too long and there was a long wait at the Acropolis for the connection to do this. Overall it was ok and it works the same as the hop on hop off experiences I have done in other cities. This one was cheaper however which does give it some plus points
3 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
It’s was worth the money and your time.
Sang_O
, Aug 2021
It’s worth the money. Great way to see Key points of Athens in your first couple days in the Athens then you can decide on where you would like to tour and spend more time .
3 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
super value for money
Karoline_L
, Jun 2021
super value for money,the staff was friendly and the had taken all the precautions against Covid-19. plus we enjoyed the bus and the monuments with no crowds because there is not massive tourism yet.
star-5
Good.
ramramsey
, Dec 2019
It went to all the main attractions. The staff was friendly and helpful. I highly recommend to every tourist.
star-1
Hop on hop off
Trail229708
, Nov 2019
Had asked if this hop-on/hop-off was close to our hotel when we purchased by phone. However once at hotel was told the closest was the red bus (across the street from our hotel) and not this hop-on/hop-off blue bus. This blueline hop-on/hop-off bus was .5 miles from our hotel and we walked to the stop. When got to the bus line stop it did not come as advised per the signage (waited for 30 minutes) & ended up not utilizing the pass that was paid for. I contacted viator for assistance by email and help and they did advise on looking for the blue/yellow street signage which we did, but the bus never came. We ended up walking and then using a redline hop-on/hop-off bus not connected with this pass. The driver of that hop-on/hop-off red bus gave us a ride to the next stop at the Plaka and did not charge us when we told him what happened. The Red hop-on/hop-off bus line was across the street from our hotel. He advised they were not connected to this pass which we knew. To get back to hotel we had to use a taxi as we waited at the blue line signage and bus did not come for over 45 minutes. We wasted our vacation time waiting on this hop-on/hop-off bus that was to come every 15 to 30 minutes per the signage and times noted for the stop. Would not recommend buying this prior to trip and will not buy for a future travel destination. We lost $30/couple for this. We never redeemed the passes and since it was same day we were advised could not get a refund or cancel and get our money back. Strongly Do Not recommend purchasing this pass as transportation option. We and the other couple do not recommend this item as hard to get help except from the other bus line.
6 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing!!
arleneoct
, Oct 2019
Amazing worth every penny, at first I thought I could only go one line (Athens line) around the town but discovered I could go on all, so I did. Athens line has all the obvious attractions but others definitely worth a look. Beach line is good is you are staying in the city and want a day out. Loved the cultural center, it's beautiful and all the girls (not sure of their job title) who checked your ticket were amazing very polite and super helpful. Thank you for a great time in Athens and I got to see everything I wanted to see in my 2 day pass.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Hop on Hop Off Classic tour of Athens
Hop on Hop Off Classic tour of Athens

star-4341

75 to 120 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$15.90

star-4475

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$21.20

star-3.5152

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$16.96

star-423

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$31.80

star-4.514

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$20.38

star-581

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$50.88

star-53

7 days

Free Cancellation

From
$3,671.92
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations