Recent Searches
Clear

Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens

|
Athina, Greece
Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon10 hours  (approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Follow in the footsteps of the ancient Greeks on a fascinating full-day trip to Mycenae and Epidaurus from Athens. Traveling by air-conditioned coach, you'll drive along the beautiful Saronic Gulf and into the Peloponnese to the atmospheric hilltop ruins of Mycenae, a fortified city from the second millennium BC. See the famous Lion’s Gate, Tomb of Agamemnon and Palace, and after a stop in pretty Nauplia, continue to another archaeological treasure, Epidaurus. Pick your way around the UNESCO-listed Sanctuary of Askeplios and ogle the age-old theater, a wonder of ancient architecture.
  • Day trip from Athens to Mycenae and Epidaurus
  • See ancient Greek remains and the tomb of Agamemnon in Mycenae
  • Enjoy a scenic drive along the Saronic Gulf coast
  • Visit Epidaurus, birthplace of Apollo's son and an ancient place of healing
  • Stop at the town of Nauplia
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
Entrance ticket to Mycenae
Entrance ticket to Ancient Epidaurus and museum
Gratuities
Food and drinks, unless specified
guided tour of Asklipeion
Pick up from Piraeus port, airport, airbnb and apartments
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Hotel Amalia Athens , Leoforos Vasilisis Amalias 10, Athina 105 57, Greece

Syntagma square, opposite the National Garden

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

8:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.Pick up service commence 07:30 to 08:15. 08:30 is the departure time of the tour from departure point.
Begin your day trip with a pickup at your Athens hotel or from near Syntagma Square in central Athens. Settle inside your air-conditioned coach and admire the scenery as you trace the coast of the Saronic Gulf into the Peloponnese.

After around 1.5 hours, arrive at the ancient hilltop city of Mycenae and enjoy a walking tour of the ruins of this once powerful, fortified settlement. Hear how the city was, in Greek myth, ruled by King Agamemnon, and view highlights such as the Palace, Tomb of Agamemnon and Lion’s Gate.

Afterward, stop in the pretty seaport of Nauplia before continuing to ancient Epidaurus, the mythological birthplace of Asklepios, the Greek god of healing.

Tour the spectacular relics, including the UNESCO-listed Sanctuary of Asklepios, with its crumbled buildings. Then, ogle the breathtaking ancient theatre of Epidaurus. Built in the 4th century BC, the colossal theater is considered one of the world’s most beautiful and still boasts fabulous acoustics.

Your trip ends back at the original departure point in Athens.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
The Great Theatre of Epidaurus
The ancient theater or Epidaurus
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Citadel and Treasury of Atreus
tumb of Agamemnon
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Archaeological Site Mycenae
part of Cyclopean walls, Lions Gate, Palace of Agamemnon
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Corinth Canal
Duration: 20 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Nauplion Promenade
walking in the city of Nauplia, Panoramic view of Palamidi Castle and Bourtzi
Duration: 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Very important: Children aged 5 to 12 years old must hold passport or ID in order to get the discounted price. Otherwise they will pay entrance ticket to the Archaelogical sites or Museums.
  • No tours on Christmas Day, New Years Day and Orthodox Easter
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Your guide will give you your entry tickets to the sites and museums
  • May be operated by a bilingual guide (English/French)
  • Pickup from port , airport or private apartment (air BNB) are not available
  • Mask: is mandatory for clients and staff in bus and closed museums
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 45 travelers
  • OPERATED BY CHAT Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Lunch is taken at a restaurant but is an extra cost." See review
  • "I recommend this tour and the tour company (Chat Tours)." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
344 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 344 reviews
star-5
It was an amazing...
Mariana_I
, Jun 2022
It was an amazing experience! The guide was very kind and a great story teller! Only thing that could be improved is some more time in the Epidayuros Theatre!
star-5
Our Experience In Mycenae and Epidaurus
EdgarIvan_P
, Jun 2022
The tour started with pickup at Hotel Amalia and we were a small group (15 or less). We made first stop next to Corinth for a coffee/restroom break. Able to see the canal. From there we went to Mycenae. We saw the Look Gate and our tour guide explained the importance of the site. After that we had free time. Then we went to Epidaurus. What a beautiful site. It’s still being used and very well conserved.
star-5
Amazing cultural site
Katrina_K
, May 2022
Every interesting cultural sites. Guide was very knowledgable. Would recommend to anyone interested in Greek mythology. If you don't book the meal you still have to spend an hour in the hotel were the meal is and there is nothing else around.
star-5
Compact tour through the Peloponnese
Gudrun_A
, May 2022
We saw the main highlights of the Pelopennese (Mycene, Epidauros, Channel of Corinth, Nafplio) in one tour with a nice tour guide. The only negative point was that lunch was served in a hotel out of Nafplio and not in the city centre which would have offered alternative possibilities for lunch.
star-5
Fun day!
Shannon_B
, Mar 2022
Our guide was fantastic, incredibly knowledgeable and engaging. There was plenty of time to wander on our own and we never felt rushed.
star-5
Great tour guide. Theater...
George_H
, Mar 2022
Great tour guide. Theater very interesting and the town nafoplio was very beautiful. Overall all sights interesting.
star-5
This tour is a winner
ALFRED_L
, Mar 2022
Great tour with lots of details and plenty to see. It’s well worth it. I would definitely recommend it
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Poor lunch choice but good/varied stops
Steve_M
, Mar 2022
This would have been a great trip if the lunch had been at the seaside stop, instead we had an hour lunch stop in the middle of nowhere rather than a 1.5 hour stop in a beautiful seaside town (where we had 30 minutes to dash to the square and back). This has been a regular criticism of the tour, why not listening and changing????? Otherwise it was a good & varied multiple stop tour with frequent stops so didn't seem too stuck in the coach. The tour bus was plush but not over comfortable and ventilation was limited.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
We are thanking you for your review. Unfortunately the seaside restaurants don't accept group bookings. Thank you Hara
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Stunning trip and also...
CJM_D
, Oct 2021
Stunning trip and also including lunch at Nafplio and a stop at Corinth. Well guided all along the way. Highly recommended.
star-5
We were fascinated with...
Nancy_H
, Oct 2021
We were fascinated with the trip to Mycenae and Epidaurus. Interesting information. Our guide, Joy, worked hard giving all the details in French and then again in English.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Great day trip
Kathleen_S
, Oct 2021
Great tour. Our Guide, Joy, was very knowledgeable and provided so much interesting information, not just the usual script. I would suggest eliminating the lunch at Epidaurus, shortening the time at the theater there and spending more time in Nafplion. That is a beautiful seaside town. It wound be a welcome spot to relax for a bit after Mycenae. Caution: we did not take the tour with lunch but that stop is at a hotel in the middle of nowhere. There is nowhere else to eat or walk while the group is eating. We ordered a la carte from the menu. The mini bus had WiFi and USB ports Glad we took the tour
star-5
A perfect day with lots of visited sites and memories
Zoltan_K
, Sep 2021
This tour is just awesome, it has everything: multiple archeological site visits, museums, lunch, city walk. And all of this is presented in a pleasant way, with no rush. Of course one could argue that more about X should be good, and Y should be skipped, but for me the most important thing was that I wanted to see great monuments, soak into the Greek atmosphere, and keep the museum visits to a minimum as I much prefer to see things on site than in a poorly lit room. Our tour guide was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable, did the tour in two languages and shared with us many interesting facts about the cultures. She let us wander around, clearly stated how much time we have, and I must say that the given time is always enough, not plenty, so you need to strategically plan where you will go, when you will start turning back, but we never had to run because of this, it was a perfect day.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
A great excursion!
Ben_S
, Aug 2021
Effe was outstanding!! Her manner, knowledge and passion, was really appreciated and she took every opportunity to educate the group on what we were seeing, including attempting to help us imagine the former glory of Mycenae, using stories and images from books. This was my first guided tour and I’m glad there was plenty of own time, to explore both sites! My ONLY disappointment and it is a big one - I had waited two years to be able to see Epidaurus, only to discover when we arrived, that there was a production on and the site was littered with seat pads, lighting equipment and awful stage props. This totally ruined the ambiance and prestige of the sight. Of course, the location and view is awe inspiring and one could not be impressed, but for the event organisers to not tidy the theatre before and after a show to allow the visitors to appreciate the theatre, shows how little they care for it. It was a disgrace. I’ll visit again, ensuring there is no production on. But the excursion on the whole, was well worth the money!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Horrible experience
Ran_H
, Aug 2021
This one day tour is the most horrible compared to the other tours. The guide is so lazy, he only show us a small part of each sight and by telling us that there's nothing to see so let's go. Of course they are all ruined pieces but that's what we want to see, if not we won't come to Athens!!!! It's nothing for you doesn't means it's nothing for us! The second, lunch is low quality, we spend so much time in that low quality lunch place and a shopping place instead of those ancient villages!! Can't believe we almost only stayed 3sec for the lion door. at Mycenae . Truly not recommend for this day tour. So so disappointed.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
please advise date of your tour because if you travel on Aug 2 (we assume that this is the date because you mentioned HE-man , we have man guide on Aug 2). So according the GPS of the bus you stayed at Mycenae 10:40 to 12:15 and you were guided also at the tumb of Agamemnon and the guide told you that from the top you can have view of the area but due to high temprature is better to avoid therefore exceptionally we add visit of Palamidi Castle (not included in our program) and you had the full view of the area. there are no ancient villages in the area plus the program include visit of Mycenae and Ancient theater of Epidaurus. This is a shared tour (not private) and we have to follow our published itinerary. As for 3 seconds on lions gate you know better than us that was more time as we checked with other clients too, you ended with your visit in Epidaurus from 16:50 to 18:00 (as the sites opened at 17:00 due to high tempratures) and you returned back to Athens. So you had a guide with you for min 11 hours and he provide all services plus extra visit and its not affair to characterize him lazy. Kind regards, Hara Kritikidou/ Customer Service Manager
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-4
Mycenae & Epidaurus
Liviu_D
, Jul 2021
Well organized tour. Knowledgeable guide. Good lunch. Switching from english to french was a bit annoying.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Dear Liviu, We are glad that your enjoyed the tour and hope to see you again in our tours in the future! Regards,Hara
star-3
Good sites, not too much “guiding”
Amy
, Jul 2021
The sites were amazing, though the guide was not overly detailed in anything she spoke about. I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone who truly wants a “guided tour”. In most cases the guide gave a brief overview and then sent you on your own to see the site. I chose the “no lunch” option figuring we would be in a town for lunch and I could either sightsee or eat on my own but instead they stopped at a random restaurant with nothing else around so I sat doing nothing for an hour. They did accommodate drop offs close to your hotel which was a pleasant surprise.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Dear Amy, We are thanking you for your review ! Unfortunately when you book a shared guided tour you have to follow the program , so always on the bus the majority of people who book the tour and want to learn a lot of information from their guide and we think that is not fair to pay for a guide for a brief overview and then to be on own. As for the restaurant is one of the best in Mycenae and its open as can cover all Covid protocols for groups prepaid served meals. We hope that you will hold nice memories of the places you visited with this tour. Kind regards, Customer Service Manager
star-5
Great guide!
Rebecka_S
, Jun 2021
Stafis the guide was very knowledgeable. Answered all the questions any one had and had such a complete understanding of the sites and their history.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
We are thanking you for your kind review as help us to investigate the case of a very negative review for this tour on same date received from other single traveller! We know that Stathis is one of the best guides and we are happy that you enjoyed his lguiding . Hope to see you gain on our tours. Best regards/ Hara Kritikidou/ Customer Service Manager
star-1
Terrible Tour
Corbin_W
, Jun 2021
Probably worst tour I've ever taken. Guide rambled the entire time, and the driver was terrible as well.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Dear client, We really don't understand what do you mean that guide rambled the entire time? Please clarify and also explain us why the driver was terrible. you mean on driving? awaiting your kind reply,Hara
star-2
Silence is NOT Golden
Rebecca_D
, Jun 2021
I’m not one to leave a negative review, but this tour was the low point of our Greece trip. We were a very small group, only five people, and we endured an hour and a half silent bus ride to Mycenae that could have easily been filled with the history and myths of the House of Atreus. The site was amazing but access was limited due to COVID which I don’t think was communicated enough before booking. The last stop of the tour was the theater of Epidaurus. The theater is beautiful but there are many other equally amazing points of interest on the grounds but we didn’t visit them. And then back in the bus for another hour and a half ride of silence back to Athens. We did many tours while in Greece and realize that the guide can make or break the day.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Dear client, We are very surprised with your negative review. We read very carefully and we feel that is completely unfair as we investigate the case and we received review from the other couple who rate the tour with 5 starts as all of you received more than the inclusions. Our guide Nancy who is archaeologist add more time in Mycenae ,as you was a small group just 5 persons , and show the graves of Klitemnistra and Aigisthos after the Mycenae museum. you had full access to all places that itinerary includes and we are very sorry but the theather of Epidaurus is the must as it is rated as best ancient theater at the world. Of course Peloponesse have a lot of treasures but our tour focus to Mycenae and Epidaurus theater and this was very clear written when you choose to book a shared tour. On a private you can visit the places that you wish but on an organized tour you have to follow a specific route of visits. This was a 10 hours tour and it is impossible to expect Nancy to talk for 10 hours... She was with you in all sites and museums and she gave all the Information. For your info please see the review that we received from other couple : A day on the Peloponnese Tripadvisor review: Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens Nancy was very knowledgeable. We were a small group because of COVID. Very complete tour of the Peloponnese (of the main structures that survived to these day) and the schedule was on time. I liked it. kind regards Hara Kritikidou Customer Service Manager
star-1
Avoid
Andrew_F
, Mar 2020
If you want to take a 300 level college course and not be shown the sights this is your tour. The guide would go to one or two places at each sight and give a very long lecture. When people start walking away and checking their phones, read the room. Even other tour guides were getting mad waiting for our tour to move. At the end of the very long lectures were given a whole 20 minutes to look at the large sites.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
please advise date of the tour in order to investigate your case. thanks. Hara

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens
Mycenae and Epidaurus Day Trip from Athens

star-4341

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$107.32

star-589

4 hours 35 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$174.18

star-53

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$120.20

star-4155

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$66.54

star-4.51307

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$100.88

star-58

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$266.16

star-515

4 hours 35 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$226.99
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations