Recent Searches
Clear

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Skip the Line: Acropolis of Athens Afternoon Walking Tour

star-4.5
|
Athens, Greece

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths11 Youths12 Youths13 Youths14 Youths15 Youths1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon2 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Face masks provided for travelers
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
More questions?
(888) 651-9785
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

See the landmark monuments of Athens in a new light during a late afternoon tour of the Acropolis, guided by a licensed archaeologist. You’re guaranteed to skip any long wait lines during this walking tour of the UNESCO World Heritage Site. Avoid the crowds and warmer temperatures while taking a leisurely stroll around the Parthenon, Propylaia gateway, Temple of Athena Nike and more.
  • Afternoon tour of the Acropolis of Athens, led by a licensed archaeologist
  • Slip past the crowds with skip-the-line access to the World Heritage Site
  • Explore the Parthenon and Temple of Athena Nike in the late afternoon light
  • Perfect sightseeing tour for classical history and archaeology buffs
Saved to wishlist!
Guaranteed to skip the long lines
Late departure to avoid crowds and warm temperatures
Professional licensed tour guide
Entrance fees are excluded from the price of the tour (unless you book the option with entrance tickets) and they cost 20 euros per adult, 10 euros per student (with show of a student card) and free for non adults with show of an identity document. 
Food and drinks
Gratuities (optional)
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Tickets purchased cash at the meting point.

Departure Point

Acropoli, Athens 117 42, Greece

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Entrance fees are excluded from the price and they cost 20 euros per adult, 10 euros per student (with show of a student car) and free for non adults with show of an identity document.
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Near public transportation
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • You can present either a paper or an electronic voucher for this activity.
  • OPERATED BY Athens Walks Tour Company

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Skip the Line: Acropolis of Athens Afternoon Walking Tour?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Skip the Line: Acropolis of Athens Afternoon Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Skip the Line: Acropolis of Athens Afternoon Walking Tour?
A:
The policy on sanitization is:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
See all safety measures taken by Skip the Line: Acropolis of Athens Afternoon Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "It's definitely better to go at 4PM since it's cooler at that time and there's a great breeze at the top." See review
  • "The paths were quite slippery in some areas, so it was a challenge to get to the top." See review
  • "This tour was a great way to see the Acropolis but it's not necessarily needed." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
87 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 87 reviews
star-5
Fantastic
Kevan_V
, Sep 2020
The tour and tour guide were fantastic. The tour guide clearly has passion for her job and it shows. The fact that she kept the tour interactive for both adults and younger members in the group also shows her experience. I’ll recommend this tour to all that come to Athens.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2020
Thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Not really worth it
AlexMartin
, Aug 2020
The tour was really not worth it. I feel like I could have looked up the few facts I learned online. Additionally our tour guide was very rude and forgot to get a ticket for one of the other tour attendees who had prepaid for their ticket. Save yourself some money and just look up some information about the Acropolis ahead of time. There isn't really a line to get in so there's no point in paying extra to skip it either.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2020
Dear guest, very sorry you find the tour not worth it. We are supriced you find one of our best rated tour guides to be rude. She is known for how gentle and accomondate she is. The ticket issue was a mistake of one of the participants since they came a wrong date and the guide rather than canceling their tour was gentle to help them fast and forward to buy the ticket and join the group. All the guides are licensed tour guides and archaelogists with experience. Hope we can change your mind and give us a second chance as it might was a bad day.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Evening tour of Acropolis
Adrienne_A
, Aug 2020
The tour with Mariza (sorry if misspelled) was certainly fun and informative. It was quite a warm day in Athens; nevertheless, we made a fact-filled journey to the top of the Acropolis. Hats-off to our guide for conducting the whole tour with the protective mask and making sure the group was comfortable and coordinated the entire time.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great Tour to get an good overview about Acropolis
Philipp
, Jul 2020
Marisa was our guide and she did an excellent job in showing and educating us the history of acropolis. There was not a single question she couldn't answer and she is really taking her time to make sure that everybody understood her stories. The tour was a bit longer than two hours and there was also enough time to take pictures.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Professional and friendly, great knowledge and on time tour
Faryal_L
, Jul 2020
It was an excellent tour, more so because of the amazing guide, Maritza. I am so happy she was the one showing our group the Acropolis. She had good knowledge and was very considerate and good company at the same time. She even took many photos, without asking. I was very impressed by the level of courtesy and professionalism of the tour guide. Am very happy with my choice of the tour company, which was a random selection I made on Viator. I hope to continue using this company thanks to Maritza.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2020
Dear Faryal, Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your tour with Athens Walks and our guide Mariza. Hope to see you back in Athens for more.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
excellent tour, highly recommended
Sophie_M
, Jul 2020
Marissa's tour of the Acropolis was fantastic, we had a small group ear pieces so we could hear and perfect timing out of the midday sun. The info provided was very interesting and we all enjoyed it including our 15 and 12 year olds
icon Response from Host , Jul 2020
Dear Miss Sophie, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your tour with Athens Walks. We hope to see you again in Athens for more. Yours Sincerely,. Mariza
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Fantastic Greece
Mark J
, Nov 2019
Can’t say enough how wonderful this tour was!! Our guide was so nice knowledgeable and ready to show you her country. Completely astonishing views. Still amazed of what was built by hand. Ty for the experience and such a pleasant tour guide.
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Much better than if we had gone alone
ronakp430
, Oct 2019
My wife and I traveled to Greece in early September and purchased this walking tour as part of seeing the ruins. We ran a little late but they were very accommodating and had someone wait for us while the rest of the tour started. It hasn’t really begun and climb to the ruins so that was good Overall it was very very informative and being in a small/medium group helped a lot as you were able to listen to the guide and take it all in. Beware as there is a good amount of walking to do but that’s the case with the ruins in general, not just This tour. It was definitely worth it and we were happy with it
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Absolutely amazing.
donnasB1611IA
, Oct 2019
We found Christo’s to be extremely informative. Loved the computer dictions that he had in a book to show us of what it would have looked like when it was built. Answered all our questions and was great about giving us time to see everything on the way up! Marie Met us at the platform terminal where we were instructed to and they were great. It was raining that day and rain ponchos were provided. Loved that! Would completely recommend this company. I had done a bit of research myself before going but had we not taken the tour I wouldn’t have know what I was seeing. So worth the money!
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
The guided tour Akropolis.
mail4lith
, Oct 2019
Very disappointed we had to pay again for the entrance of the Akropolis.. We payed 34 euro p.p. for the guided tour. What can you do with a guided tour if you cannot enter the museum. And we had asked it on the phone. The visit was far to expensive!! 108 euro for 2 persons!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry there was a misunderstanding. You indeed paid for the tour and there is an option to book your tour with entrance tickets or not. Clearly on the voucher you book the tour without entrance tickets so since you did not have them you had to pay them to enter to Acropolis. So you did not have to pay again something you did not have it originally. This is very clear on the voucher and on the booking page of the tour as long as the price and what includes. Acropolis museum is a different sight. A different tour and completely difference entrance ticket. That is the museum of Acropolis doesn’t mean has the same ticket. Is actually out of the Acropolis monuments sight. So pricing of entrance tickets and policy of them have nothing to do with the tour but with the policies of Ministry of Culture of Greece. Tour takes place with a professional licensed your guide. In a small group, we provide you cold water and we organize everything to skip the lines and avoid heat and crowds in an ancient sight. Thank you again and sorry if you missed these details as they are printed on your voucher and the product page. We hope to welcome you back.
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 5776P15

Explore Similar Things to Do