Recent Searches
Clear

Giethoorn - Venice of the Netherlands - Day Trip from Amsterdam With Boat Trip

star-4.5177 Reviews
|
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Giethoorn - Venice of the Netherlands - Day Trip from Amsterdam With Boat Trip

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon8 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Explore a picturesque landscape of quiet canals, wooden bridges, and Dutch homes on a full-day tour from Amsterdam to Giethoorn, the ‘Venice of the Netherlands.’ You'll be travelling in a small group of 8 people maximum in a minivan, or 15 people maximum in a bus from central Amsterdam to Giethoorn. The village has no main roads, so you will enjoy a boat trip cruising through Giethoorn’s canals with your local tour guide, who will provide you with interesting information about this village's history and people.
  • Giethoorn day trip from Amsterdam
  • Visit a traditional Dutch village
  • Enjoy a canal cruise through Giethoorn's waterways
  • Round trip transportation from a central meeting point in Amsterdam
Saved to wishlist!
Round trip transfer from Amsterdam in air-conditioned minivan/bus
Guide
1-Hour Boat Trip in Giethoorn
Gratuities
Food and drinks
Hotel and Airport pickup (may be available at additional cost)
Hotel NH Collection Amsterdam Barbizon Palace , Prins Hendrikkade 59-72, 1012 AD Amsterdam, Netherlands

Please wait in front of the main entrance of the hotel, or in the lobby in case of rain or cold weather. Please be reachable on your mobile.

10:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
Meet a guide and group in central Amsterdam and board a luxury van or coach for the trip to Giethoorn. Giethoorn’s city center is filled with canals and is entirely car-free, so start by exploring on foot: walk at the water’s edge as traditional, flat-bottom punters cruise between small farmhouses.

Board a boat for a tour of Giethoorn, cruising down the village waterways, ducking under wooden bridges, and learning about life in the area, which was once a waterlogged swamp. After the boat tour, choose to have lunch organized by your guide (own expense), or have some free time to explore Giethoorn on your own, following narrow walking paths, browsing for souvenirs, or simply soaking up the easy-going atmosphere of the village. Don’t miss Giethoorn’s distinctive thatched-roof houses, which are fringed with small patches of green grass and compact gardens.

At the end of the afternoon, make the return trip to Amsterdam, where this tour concludes.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Amsterdam
Meet your guide in central Amsterdam and board the minivan/bus for transfer to Giethoorn
Duration: 4 hours 
Admission Ticket Free
Stop At:  
Giethoorn
Enjoy a boat ride and a walking tour in Giethoorn
Admission Ticket Free
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Wheelchair accessibility needs advance notice at the time of booking.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Cherry Travel & Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Giethoorn - Venice of the Netherlands - Day Trip from Amsterdam With Boat Trip?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Giethoorn - Venice of the Netherlands - Day Trip from Amsterdam With Boat Trip.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Giethoorn - Venice of the Netherlands - Day Trip from Amsterdam With Boat Trip?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Giethoorn - Venice of the Netherlands - Day Trip from Amsterdam With Boat Trip.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "I highly recommend this trip to anyone looking for a beautiful nature and a relaxing day." See review
  • "The day we went it was overcast with occasional rain." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
177 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 177 reviews
star-5
Worth visiting.
Saurabh_S
, Aug 2022
Everything was just amazing. Walking through the beautiful village of Giethoorn and the boat riding, all were mesmerising.
star-5
Go and do it!
Jeni_D
, Jun 2022
This was a great trip. We saw some of the best spots and had a great time! I would highly recommend.
star-5
Wonderful Day!
Diane_H
, May 2022
The day was perfect as was the weather, the small group and our guide Cherry. We stopped at the windmills first then Giethoorn. Just the right amount of time was spent at each place and Cherry even stopped on the way home at some beautiful tulip fields for a quick photo stop. Cherry was very kind, knowledgeable and made sure everyone had a great time which we all did. Her driver was also very nice. I would highly recommend Cherry and this tour!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear Diane, I am very glad that you went on the tour run by me, great meeting you. You are such an energetic and well travelled lovely lady. When you told me that you don't usually write reviews and you would like to write for me, I am flattered. I had a fun day, lots of good conversation about travelling and shared so much with you and the lovely group from all around the world. Very good vibes on the tour. Keep exploring and keep enjoying! Regards, Cherry
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
Poor experience
Archana_B
, Apr 2022
This trip was horrible. A man from the group was missing and the tour guide wasn’t even bothered. I would never recommend this even to the people I hate most. Thanks to this trip, we will never be able to step foot onto a one decker bus. Absolute trash experience. Complete waster of time and money. WE WANT A REFUND!!
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Archana, I see that you have written two reviews. Before the trip, you have contacted me a few times for arrangements to make sure your two groups are together. We made it happen during the busiest time yet the most beautiful time in NL. We had to arrange a bus to accommodate all of you who want to travel at this time. We have sent messages to the group about this arrangement, anyone who did not agree could cancel the booking. We care about our customers. We have shortage of staff due to the pandemic, this happens to all tourism businesses. Maybe you should have booked a private tour. It it a surprise from you knowing that some people from your group told me that they enjoyed the tour. We should be thankful we got to see and do every attraction listed on the tour. Your group even got a private boat with me. During the pandemic, guides changed job, and the energy crisis in Europe makes it harder running touring businesses. Running tours is my passion and it will not change that no matter what happens. Thank you for your kind attention. Regards, Cherry
star-1
Disastrous and tragic experience with emotional trauma and panic
Archana_B
, Apr 2022
1. Not a small tour 2. Very disorganized 3. Poor instruction 4. Unsafe and dangerous 5. Deserted the guests on the boats and there was an accident (fortunately not involving our groups) 6. She cannot run a tour for nuts. We want our money back! Please respond
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Dear Archana, I see that you have written two reviews. Before the trip, you have contacted me a few times for arrangements to make sure your two groups are together. I made it happen during the busiest time yet the most beautiful time in NL. We had to arrange a bus to accommodate all of you who want to travel at this time. We have sent messages to the group about this arrangement, anyone who did not agree could cancel the booking. We care about our customers. We have shortage of staff due to the pandemic, this happens to all tourism businesses. Maybe you should have booked a private tour. It is a surprise from you, knowing that some people from your group told me that they enjoyed the tour. We should be thankful we got to see and do every attraction listed on the tour. Your group even got a private boat with me. During the pandemic, guides changed job, and the energy crisis in Europe makes it harder running touring businesses. Running tours is my passion and it will not change that no matter what happens. Thank you for your kind attention. Regards, Cherry
star-5
Great day trip to Giethoorn
Kathryn_M
, Apr 2022
Great day out, our guide Aku was fantastic, he even agreed to an impromptu short detour to see some tulip fields which wasn't part of the programme. He made sure our day was special. Highly recommend this tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
We had a wonderful time,...
Emy_J
, Mar 2022
We had a wonderful time, our guide AKU was fantastic! The place is a must to see in Amsterdam. You can enjoy the view of Netherlards country side on the road.
star-4
Excellent Giethoorn trip worth visiting
Allan_C
, Mar 2022
Boat ride on 1m shallow water ways was a great experience except we did not get to ride the boat ourselves, what a pity.. Beautiful sunny day on our visit. Excellent tour guide - Mr Aku - whim gave in depth explanation & guides... It was a superb experience for us in Giethoorn Town:)
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Dear Allan, Appreciate it very much for your review. It means a lot to us especially during this hard time. The boat trip we offer is more fun with electric boat, unlike other tours offer a boat with big crowds on board. We offer our small group to drive the electric boat for fun experience, this time sorry you didn't get the chance to. Sorry but it didn't affect the fact that you enjoyed the tour very much. We hope to welcome you or your friends from your country to travel back in the Netherlands and join us again. Wish you happy travels! Regards, Cherry
star-5
Aku was fantastic,...
James_H
, Nov 2021
Aku was fantastic, courteous and informative. We were a bit disorganized and Aku was accommodating and friendly.
star-4
Acu was a very good guide...
Ali_S
, Nov 2021
Acu was a very good guide and was really interested in delivering the information of the place I really recommend him for a guide
star-4
fun on land and water
Joan_M
, Aug 2021
The Zaanse Schanse Giethoorn tour felt intimate- the tour guide (Cherry Tours) was friendly and knew her route very well. The boat ride was also great fun. Only problem was the crowded canal.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hello Joan, Thank you for your good review for Cherry Tours. Now it is the most beautiful season for Giethoorn with hydrangeas in bloom and warm weather. I enjoyed very much with you driving our own boat cruising around the historic centre. Wish you well. All the best for your children studying in NL! Regards, Cherry
star-3
Great tour based on venue
Hazel_H
, Aug 2021
Needed more info about passing sights on the drive; needed more info from guide on specific sites in the area.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Hello Hazel, Thank you for your time writing us a review and we will take that as an advice, always room for improvement. In fact, that's what I do pointing out interesting facts and add in more information about our country or even Europe. I run tours not only in the Netherlands, I run tours around Europe too. Telling my groups about the sights we pass by eg. the largest man-made lake IJsselmeer, the newest province Flevoland and polders along the way. Sorry to hear about the fact that is not enough. We thank you for joining us and wish you happy travels! Regards, Cherry
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Nice to visit 💟
Hend_S
, Dec 2019
Giethoorn is one of the most beautiful places I had ever seen...nature is fabulous houses were designed with marvelous way Very recommended to visit, But the sponsor of the trip need to more professional ..
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Good guide and very informative.
Arlene_L
, Nov 2019
The day we went it was overcast with occasional rain. Very typical for the Netherlands. Wasn't too crowded as when we went it was low season. (Fall) The sights were very nice and the homes were very well kept.
star-3
Giethoorn
Michael_C
, Nov 2019
The trip its self was great but the organisation and pick up were not good. Not to the usual standard I have had from Viator in the past
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Hello Cheryl, Thank you for you time reviewing Cherry Tours! Currently, there is massive construction around the pick up area near Victoria Hotel, we still keep this location as pick up and we walk you to the minivan or bus. Bus has to park near Port of Amsterdam, not easy for tourists to find it so we walk you there. We want to offer personal service. Minivan is easier to park nearby. We have more bikes than people living in Amsterdam, currently city of Amsterdam constructing 3-metre wide bike path and 5-metre wide underground bike parking. In 2030, there shouldn't be any diesel cars in the centre, only electric one are allowed. Bus is not allowed to go in the city and that makes pick up difficult. We are trying to improve on it and thank you again for your feedback. We wish you happy travelling! Regards, Cherry
star-5
Unforgettable trip
Wanderer01404991636
, Nov 2019
We had a great time with our tour guide Cherry. She gave us lots of interesting facts and history background information about the Giethoorn. She also showed us the best spot to take photos. The boat tour was also very unique. The captain is very funny. We really enjoy our trip and we definitely will try to do this tour in a warmer weather to enjoy different view.
star-5
Giethoorn
546pam
, Oct 2019
The guide was great and very friendly and we enjoyed the tour very much but don’t like having to say 100 words
star-4
Giethoorn tour
wytracy
, Oct 2019
It was a nice tour. More like $50 instead of the $110 I paid. There just wasn't that much to it. The guide wasn't very enthusiastic.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-3
Charming Town - only do if you have time
506sandym
, Oct 2019
I chose this tour because I had two friends who had been to Giethoorn and loved it. The day of our tour was cold and rainy so that affected the our enjoyment of the tour. It took us a long time to get there due to the rain and an accident on the road. On the boat trip, others (not our group) were talking over the four language commentary which made it difficult to understand what he was saying. The best part of the trip was the 1 hour we got to spend walking around on our own through the little town and the shops. But then it was a long ride back to Amsterdam. Recommend only if you have extra time.
star-5
Excellent
limsuhien
, Oct 2019
Beautiful place and a must visit when you're in Holland.Tour guide too is very informative and fun to be with.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Giethoorn - Venice of the Netherlands - Day Trip from Amsterdam With Boat Trip
Giethoorn - Venice of the Netherlands - Day Trip from Amsterdam With Boat Trip

star-4.5177

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$111.65

star-4.567

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$133.36

star-4.5117

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$98.21

star-3.59

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$205.73

star-00

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$103.38 $98.21

star-4.519

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$154.04

star-54

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$92.01
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations